# Westside Unitarian Universalist Church Annual Congregational Meeting Minutes June 20, 2021

# 1. Call to Order and Establishment of Quorum

President, Janell Weaver, called the meeting to order via Zoom at 12:00 p.m.

Nicole Kennedy reported that there were 53 members and 50 voting members participating online and a quorum was present.

### 2. Adoption of Agenda

The Agenda was adopted as posted. The minutes of the 2020 Annual meeting were approved by committee and are on file in the church office. Janell appointed Stan Yoder, Jerrie Koppa, and Jaye Dodds to approve the minutes of this meeting.

#### 3. <u>Reports</u>

President - Janell Weaver gave a report on the year's challenges and activities.

<u>Interim DLRE</u> - Nicci Kennedy gave a review of programs and classes for children, youth, and adults.

Treasurer - Dwight Robarts gave a Treasurer's Report

<u>Endowment Committee</u> - Bob Vann submitted a report on the status of the Fund. Total in the fund is \$73,366.34.

Garden - Dianne Nixon submitted a report on the status of the garden.

### **New Business**

**NOTE:** At the end of the meeting, voting on contested bylaws proposals and budget took place from a link that was sent to each person's email who signed into the meeting. The deadline for voting was announced as 11:00 p.m. The minutes below reflect the results of the votes.

1. <u>Budget</u>: Stephanie Jeffers presented the Budget for Fiscal Year 2021-2022 and moved approval. Discussion followed.

Janell called for a vote on the proposed Budget. Motion CARRIED by vote, Yes - 44 and No - 2, on ballots sent to those in attendance.

Bylaws Amendments: Reed Bilz moved to adopt the following bylaws amendments:
A. Article 16. Diversity, Equity and Inclusion - To be more inclusive.

Janell called for a vote on the Bylaw. Motion CARRIED by vote, Yes - 42 and No - 2, on ballots sent to those in attendance.

B. Section 10.3. Committee on Shared Ministry (COSM) - To comply with changes proposed by COSM August 11, 2020

Minutes Annual Congregational Meeting June 20, 2021

Janell called for a vote on the Bylaw. Motion CARRIED by unanimous Yes vote on ballots sent to those in attendance.

C. Section 10.4 Transition Team (new section) - To authorize a committee to search for and support a Contract Minister and temporarily disband the COSM until Westside calls a Settled Minister.

Janell called for a vote on the Bylaw. Motion CARRIED by unanimous Yes vote on ballots sent to those in attendance.

D. Section 6.1. Election of Officers - 1. Omission for terms of Directors; 2. Redundant, past President is a member of the board; 3. To agree with current rotation.

Janell called for a vote on the Bylaw. Motion CARRIED by vote, Yes - 45 and No - 1, on ballots sent to those in attendance.

E. Section 10.4.2. Endowment Committee - 1. Establish elected committee membership number for purposes of election. 2. To record initial approval of bylaws establishing the committee and provide for changes as needed.

Janell called for a vote on the Bylaw as amended. Motion CARRIED by vote, Yes - 43 and No - 3, on ballots sent to those in attendance.

## 3. <u>Elections</u>:

A. Matthew Craig presented the slate of nominees for **Board of Directors and Officers for 2020-21**:

President	Marc Hart
Vice President	Dayna Tooley
Secretary	Jeff Rodriguez
Past President	Janell Weaver
Directors	Daryel Sellars, Glenda Hood, and Sue Anderson

Janell called for further nominations for officers or directors. There being none, the slate was elected. Dwight Robarts, Treasurer, and Directors Lauren Lessing and Aimee Stubbs are filling the second year of two-year terms.

B. Matthew presented the slate of one nominee for **Endowment Committee** for three year term: Barbara Crotty.

Janell called for further nominations for Committee Members. There being none, the slate was elected. Bob Vann, Spencer Maxwell and Donald Canard remain on the committee. Two further positions are open on the Committee.

C. Matthew presented the slate of nominees for the **Nominating and Leadership Development Committee**: Caroline Nixon, and Janna Canard

Minutes Annual Congregational Meeting June 20, 2021

Janell called for further nominations for Committee Members. There being none, the slate was elected. Gwen Genius, Kelly Flanigan and Tom Woods remain on the committee.

D. Dwight Robarts moved to ratify the following board appointments to the **Audit Committee** for the 2019-2021 books: Mary Alice Cretsinger, Julie Duderstadt, and Reed Bilz. The motion was seconded and CARRIED.

There being no further business Janell announced that the meeting was adjourned at 1:49.

Respectfully submitted,

Reed K. Bilz, Secretary

### APPROVED BY COMMITTEE:

Stan Yoder - Approved

Jerrie Koppa - Approved

Jaye Dodds - Approved